Skip to content

Havin’ a Feeling in 1955

June 15, 2013

April 13

Call me crazy, but I got a feeling about this years Bums.  Brooklyn finished second last year, but even with a first place finish from our Dodgers, I know what you’re thinking: they’ll blow it in the Series.  Right now I’m writing for a local paper- you have no idea how bad I wanna cover the Dodgers, but they say I gotta write some general boring crap first.  Whatever.

Anyway, back to business.  Of course, Gil Hodges is gonna drive in his runs.  Name me a better infield than Hodges, Giliam, Pee Wee, and Robinson.  Alright maybe you could, I dunno.  But I got this feeling.

The game started today at around 2:40.  Red Barber told us that the paid attendance is just under 7,000.  How’s there no more than that?

Carl Erskine was the starter for the Dodgers today. Gil Hodges backed him up with the first RBI on the Brooklyn season, scoring Snider on a single to center in the sixth, and Carl  didn’t allow a run to score til the seventh.

Our boys came up big in the fifth, scoring five times.  The inning was capped off by Carl Furillo’s three-run shot to left-center.

Brooklyn took this season’s opener on a 6-1 final.

I mean, we handled a team that won only 53 games last year.  I can’t get too excited yet.  Or at least I shouldn’t.

The Yankees pounded Washington 19-1 today.  I hate those guys.  At least the New York Giants lost to Philadelphia.  I can’t even get started on their high-class selves, it’ll kill me.  Willie versus the Duke, I’m taking Duke every time.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

